Hong Kong Friends of SOS Children's Villages

About our Charity

12:17 pm

SOS Children’s Villages: About our charity

SOS Children’s Villages is a unique charity. Our aim is to ensure that children grow up in a caring family environment, and for over 60 years we have worked tirelessly to achieve this. As the years have passed, our ways of operating have changed and developed, adapting to the times and the needs of the children we support. Nevertheless, our central objective has remained steady: to work towards a world in which no child grows up alone.

 

Investing in local communities

Today, SOS Children’s Villages works closely with communities to ensure the best upbringing for all children. Our emphasis is very much on collaborating with local people with a deeper knowledge and understanding of their community. This way, we can target the support we offer to the actual needs of children and families, instead of delivering a one-size-fits-all model which neglects the realities of life in our communities.

Education for both parents and children, and healthcare for children in early life and beyond – these are key to ensure the long-term safety of families who might otherwise shatter under the financial pressures and emotional strains of living with nothing.

 

The path to success

Where local schools are failing communities, we build new ones. The very best facilities and staff ensure generations of children receive outstanding teaching for years to come. A good academic career is often the way out of generational poverty, and we guide all of our children from nursery to secondary-level education.

Young people have big ambitions, and we do all we can to make sure they can fulfil them! After school, we help youngsters realise their aspirations through the right vocational training and the right higher education courses. We offer scholarships to local colleges and universities, and in many locations we run our own learning centres to deliver the high standard of teaching that each child deserves. It is of paramount importance that every young person can pursue the path that is right for them.

 

The importance of a full stomach

A full stomach and a healthy diet is key to success in school. Hand in hand with our work in education is healthcare. Children cannot learn if they are undernourished or hungry, so we make sure they get the best diet and any supplements they may need to recover their well-being.

Conditions such as diarrhoea are common in children, and in the developed world are little more than an unpleasantness posing minimal long-term risk. In developing countries, however, these diseases kill. Treatment is necessary to ensure infants and children suffering from common complaints like this are adequately hydrated and have access to clean water.

We also provide care to families afflicted by conditions as potentially life-threatening as HIV/AIDS. Nowadays, HIV/AIDS need have minimal impact on a sufferer’s quality of life, but when left untreated, it can devastate whole communities.

 

When there’s nowhere else to turn

For those children who have no one else to turn to, we offer a new home and a loving family within an SOS children’s village. Our children’s villages are communities within a community, where children grow up together in their SOS Children’s Villages home but also share time, facilities and resources with children from the surrounding neighbourhood.

Our Villages often form bases for our wider community work, meaning that SOS children and local families come together in our social centres and nurseries to benefit from the cross-community work we do.

 

A lifelong commitment

We stay with SOS children until they are ready to take the leap into independent life. When young people feel ready to leave our care, we help them manage the transition with careful and targeted guidance to gradually introduce them to the challenges and pressures of adulthood.

Even after they leave, they forever remain a part of their SOS family. Many SOS children make frequent visits to see their SOS mother and discover a new generation of youngsters.

 

When disaster strikes…

When disaster strikes, SOS Children’s Villages delivers vital emergency relief to help communities recover from the terrible challenges they face during times of particular need.

After the devastating Boxing Day tsunami of 2004, SOS Children’s Villages was one of the first on the scene. We built three new Villages in Indonesia to accommodate children left alone by the tragedy. We also helped those affected by the terrible Pakistan floods of 2010/11 and are currently supporting over thousands of families forced from their homes by war in Syria.

 

Pride in our work

Our many key supporters around the world have expressed immense gratitude for the work we do. We are a charity of action and this can be seen in the countless success stories our work has created. The children we support grow up not only ready to succeed in their own lives, but ready as well to bring success to whole communities.

 

Contact

To contact SOS Children’s Villages, please email info@soschildren.org.hk

拯救兒童行動香港之友是

關於拯救兒童行動

12:18

關於拯救兒童行動

拯救兒童行動是一個獨一無二的慈善組織,而我們的目標是確保兒童能夠在一個滿載關懷的家庭環境底下成長。在過去六十多年,我們一直都朝着這個目標進發。時移世易,我們的執行方式亦因應我們所援助的兒童的需要和時代變遷而進化。不過,我仍然維持一貫宗旨:為世上再沒有兒童孤獨成長而努力。

 

投入當地社區工作

今日,拯救兒童行動與社區緊密合作,以確保我們的孩子獲得最佳的培育。我們着重與當地人合作,因為他們最了解當地的社區,讓我們可以為當地的家庭及兒童提供最合適的支援,避免只提供倒模式服務,而忽略他們所需。

要長遠確保家庭免受因經濟和精神壓力所困擾,孩子和家長的教育及兒童的醫療服務都是不可或缺的。

 

通往成功之路

如當地社區缺乏學校,我們將會為該處興建學校。優質的設施及職員,能為兒童提供出類拔萃的教育。良好的學術前景是他們擺脫世代貧窮的方法。另外,我們村莊內的兒童由幼兒至中學教育其間均可以在我們的循循善誘下成長。

每個年青人都有抱負,而我們亦會盡力滿足他們。畢業後,我們會透過適當的職業培訓或學術教育,以實現他們的願望。我們提供獎學金予當地的學院及大學,並在多個地方開設學習中心,以提供高質素的教育。我們深信,每個年青人都應該有權追尋自己的理想。

 

溫飽的重要

營養不良或挨餓的孩子不能有效地學習。三餐溫飽及能夠進食富營養的食物,是在學業上成功的主因,因此保健工作與我們的教育工作息息相關。盡力確保孩子們能夠得到最好的膳食,並在需要時為他們提供補充劑。

在已發展國家,腹瀉等在兒童身上甚為普遍的疾病不過是小事,但在發展中國家,孩子們卻可能會因此喪命。因此,必須要確保罹患此類常見疾病的嬰兒及孩子,能夠獲得恰當的治療、補充水份及飲用清潔的食水。

我們亦提供照顧予受性命悠關的疾病,如愛滋病所影響的家庭。如今,愛滋病對患者的生活影響已變得較為輕微,但若患者不接受治療,愛滋病足可摧毁整個社區。

 

當走投無路時

有些孩子無親無顧,走投無路時,我們會為他們於拯救兒童行動的村莊內,為他們提供一個全新及溫暖的家。我們的兒童村是社區內的小社區,孩子在拯救兒童行動之家長大,他們一同分享日常生活小節、村內設施以及資源。

我們的村莊還可以擴闊我們社區工作的接觸點,讓拯救孩子行動村莊內的兒童與當地家庭一同使用我們的社區中心和托兒所,讓更多人受惠。

 

終生承諾

我們會一直照顧拯救兒童行動的小朋友,直至他們能獨立生活為止。當年青人覺得他們能離開我們的保護時,我們就會幫助他們克服將要面對的轉變,為他們作好準備,應付未來的挑戰。

即使離開村莊後,他們永遠都是拯救兒童行動大家庭的一份子,很多孩子長大後,都會回來探望他們的拯動兒童行童村莊內的媽媽,還會與他們的「弟妹」見面。

 

無情天災

當某地方遭逢天災,拯救兒童行動會為當地提供緊急援助,幫助當地社區在面臨重大挑戰和最需要協助的時候,可以盡快恢復過來。

我們在印尼設立了三個拯救兒童行動村莊,以收容在天災後痛失至親的小朋友。我們亦向於2010-2011年間受洪水威脅的巴基斯坦人伸出援手。目前,我們為敘利亞數以千計因為戰火而無家可歸的平民提供援助。

 

為我們的工作自豪

支持者都十分欣賞和感激我們的工作。我們是一個着重行動的慈善組織,而無數的成功例子,亦正正是我們努力的成果。我們所協助的兒童不但準備好邁向自己的成功之路,亦準備好為他們社區出貢獻。